Lutz Warnke wins the 2016 Denes Konig Prize

Our soon-to-be colleague Lutz Warnke will receive this year's Denes Konig Prize. It will be given during the biennial SIAM Conference on Discrete Mathematics, which will be held at GSU in Atlanta this year, June 6-10, 2016.

The prize is awarded every two years to an early career researcher for outstanding research, as determined by the prize committee, in an area of discrete mathematics, based on a publication by the candidate in a peer-reviewed journal published in the three calendar years prior to the year of the award.

Lutz is being recognized for "his contribution to the study of random graph processes and phase transitions." His impressive contributions include joint papers with (his advisor) Oliver Riordan: "The Evolution of Subcritical Achlioptas Processes, Random Structures and Algorithms 47 (2015)"; and another in Science: "Explosive Percolation Is Continuous," Science 333 (2011), 322-324. More on the prize and a list of previous winners can be found here. Our own ACO alumnus Adam Marcus won the inaugural award in 2008.