ARC-ACO Fellowship Winners for Spring 2023

We are pleased to announce the ARC-ACO fellowship winners for Spring 2023:

Guanghui Wang (ML CS)


Adaptive and Oracle-Efficient Online Learning

Tian-Yi Zhou (ISyE OR)


Classification of Unbounded Data by Gaussian Mixture Models Using deep ReLU Networks

Jai Moondra (ACO CS)


Fair and interpretable combinatorial optimization using symmetric weights

Yumbum Kook (CS)


Further Development of High-dimensional Sampling

Yuzhou Wang (ACO Math)


Hardness of finding balanced independent sets in d-regular random bipartite graphs

Yongchun Li (OR ISyE)


On the Strength of Dantzig-Wolfe Relaxation of Rank Constrained Optimization: Exactness, Rank Bound, and Algorithm

Sajad Khodadadian (OR ISyE)


Sharp Analysis of Two-Time-Scale Stochastic Approximation with Applications in Reinforcement Learning

Kevin Shu (ACO Math)


Sparsity and Randomness in Optimization

Xinyuan Cao (ML CS)


Unsupervised Learning of Halfspaces and Beyond

Congratulations to all of them. We received 23 applications including many excellent proposals that we could not accept. Many thanks to the selection committee of Jan van den Brand, Debankur Mukherjee, Will Perkins, Mohit Singh, Santosh Vempala and Josephine Yu.